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Texas Engineers 
Continuing Education 
Program(CEP)

�The 78th Texas Legislature in SB 277 
requires 15 hours of continuing 
education annually



What goes Where?
� Engineering Practice Act was Texas Civil Statues, 

Article 3271a.  
� 78th Legislature SB 277, Section 17 set forth 

requirements for Continuing Education.
� Continuing Education requirement is part of the 

Occupation Code, Chap 1001.210.
� TBPE promulgating rules to implement.  (Current 

Rule 131.139, will become Rule 137.17 in recodified
rules)

� Rules have been approved at January Board 
meeting.  Published in Jan 30, 2004 Texas Register



Timeline for Implementation
�November 7, 2003 - Proposed rules 

published in Texas Register
�January 15, 2004 - TBPE Board adopted 

rules.  Effective Jan 15, 2004.
�You may start counting your CEP as of 

September 1, 2003
�March 2005 - PDHs required for license 

renewal



What does it mean to You?

�Similar to previous Voluntary program
�Used NCEES model and other state 

boards for base
�Self determination of CEP activities
�Required record keeping and retention
�Possibility of audit by TBPE



Definitions
�PDH Professional Development hour - a 

contact hour of CEP
�CEU Continuing Education Unit -

Continuing education unit of credit
�Course/Activity - Any qualifying course 

or activity which will maintain, improve 
expand skill and knowledge



What is required by License Holder?

�15 PDH per renewal period 
� 1 PDH in  professional ethics per 

renewal period – cannot carry over
�5 PDH max from self-directed study
�Maximum of 14hours may be carried 

forward to next year
�Maintain record to support activity



How do I report my PDH’s?
� Maintain record to support activity
� Certify you have completed the CEP 

requirement on the yearly renewal form.
� Logsheet available from the board
� Keep certificates, flyers, documentation to 

support activities
� Possibility of audit.  Only then will you send in 

logsheet and support documentation.
� Keep for 3 years.



Renewal Process

� Receive renewal coupon in the mail.
� Check box on right hand side of coupon 

indicating that you have completed 15 hours 
of CEP or that you are exempt from CEP.

� Sign the coupon.
� Return the coupon with payment to board.  
� Do not send in log sheets, forms, certificates, 

etc.



Example of Renewal Coupon
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How DO You Earn  PDHs?
� 1.  Complete/audit college credit course
� 2.  Complete continuing education courses
� 3.  Completion of short course/tutorials
� 4.  Present/attend seminars/technical 

presentation
� 5.  Teaching/instructing above 1 - 4
� 6.  Publishing papers, articles, books
� 7.  Participation in Professional/Technical 

Societies
� 8.  Patents issued
� 9.  Engaging in self-directed study

10. Active participation in educational outreach
activities involving K-12 or higher students. 

�



1.  Complete/audit college credit 
course

�Successful completion or auditing of 
college credit course

� 1 College or unit semester hour = 15 PDH
� 1  Unit quarter hour = 10 PDH



2.  Complete continuing education 
courses
� Successful completion of continuing 

education courses, either offered by a 
professional or trade organization, university 
or college or offered in-house by a 
corporation or other business entity

� 1 Continuing Education Unit = 10 PDH
� Earn 1 PDH per Hour of Contact time



3.  Completion of short 
course/tutorials

�Successful completion of 
correspondence, on-line, televised, 
videotaped and other short 
courses/tutorials

�1 CEU = 10 PDH
�1 Hour of contact time = 1 PDH



4.  Present/attend seminars/technical 
presentation

�Presenting or attending             
qualifying seminars, in-
house courses, workshops or 
professional or technical presentations 
made at meetings, conventions or 
conferences

�1 CEU = 10 PDH
�1 Hour of contact time = 1 PDH



5.  
Teaching/instructing                             

Items 1 -4

�Teaching or instructing as listed in 
items 1- 4

�Teaching credit valid for the first 
time only

�1 CEU = 10 PDH
�1 Hour of contact time = 1 PDH



6.  Publishing papers, articles, books

�Authoring published papers, articles, 
books, or accepted licensing 
examination items

�Each published paper, article, or book   
=  10 PDH



7.  Participation in Professional/ 
Technical Societies
� Active participation in professional or 

technical societies, associations, agencies or 
organizations, including:
� Elected or appointed official
� Serving on a committee

� PDH not earned until end of service year
� 1 PDH not to exceed 5 PDH per organization
� Giving or attending a presentation at a 

meeting is considered a separate activity 



8.  Patents issued

�Each patent issued = 15 PDH



9.  Engaging in self directed study

� One hour of contact time = 1 PDH
� Maximum of 5 PDH per year
� Critical record keeping
� Examples: Reading of professional or 

technical journals 
or reference books,
research, etc.



�



Who is exempt?

�4 types of exemptions
�Not the same as exemption 

from $200 renewal fee
�Board can review and 

approve special case 
exemptions. 



Who is exempt?

�License holders by way of 
exam – exempt 1st license 
period

�Deployed Military 
�Disability or Illness
� “Inactive” Status



And in the end…...

� Credit for activities responsibility of license 
holder and subject to review

� Board has final authority to audit and review
� TBPE will NOT pre-approve or endorse any 

CEP activities
� Credit for qualifying seminars/ workshops 

based on contact time 



� Self directed study based  
on contact time and not to 
exceed 5 PDH/year

� Credit for college courses based on college 
course credit listed

� Credit for teaching first time only
� PDH credit for being an officer of an 

organization not earned until end of year of 
service



TBPE

�1917 S. Interstate 35
�Austin, TX 78741
�Phone:  512-440-7723
�FAX:  512-442-1414
�Web:  http://engineers.texas.gov
�email:  info@engineers.texas.gov



Questions

And Answers




